Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Wanting to drop out of college.

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
Hi all :wave:

I'm unsure if this is in the correct place, if not, feel free to move it whereever.

Ok, so I'm a second year student at college, currently undertaking 15 units on my final year (Rest of college class are only doing 10) I passed my first year with D*DD according to my tutors. I'm in college three days a week and in placement in a private daycare two days a week (rest of class are only in one day a week)

Over the past few weeks the urge to drop out of my course has grown bigger, it started of as just a little thought at the start of September when I went back. Now it's just getting bigger and it won't shut up.

The more assignments, coursework and deadlines that are given to me, the more stressed and panicky I get over them. We have all been given our first date for our first observation which I'm super scared about.

I had the start of year review with my personal tutor today (Elaine) I told Elaine that I was thinking about dropping out and that everything was getting on top of me, the fact I've spent most nights in tears over coursework and stuff, just to like see what she would say/offer. She said I would be stupid to drop out at this stage, when I'm so close to the end. She said she would email my other tutors and see what they have to say about it.

I know if I was to drop out I would regret it, all I want to do is work with little humans. But all this work is making that seam impossible.

All I guess I was really wondering was like if anyone else has kinda felt a little like this?

Thanks and sorry in advance.
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru