Home General Chat
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Pan's Labyrinth and The Devil's backbone

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited January 2023 in General Chat
Has anyone seen these films?

I am studying them at university next academic year as part of Iberian and Latin American studies I believe (I got hold of last years student guidebook thingy so I would think they study the same films next year for the film part of culture studies). Any comments? I've bought them but I'm scared to watch them as they look scary :nervous:
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Pan's labyrinth is not scary. In my opinion it's not particularly good, either - bit dull I thought, though plenty of people rave about it.
  • JamesJames Deactivated Posts: 1,706 Extreme Poster
    I've seen Pan's Labyrinth and quite enjoyed it (despite the magical realism!)
    As Mist said, it's not particularly scary though
    The Devil's Backbone is scary - it has the usual small child seeing and hearing things that other people can't. It isn't jumpy though, just quite creepy. I found it sad more than anything though, because it's mostly about lonely children rather than ghosts.

Pan's Labyrinth isn't scary, apart from one scene (the scary character's called the Pale Man if you want to look him up beforehand so he isn't a surprise). The step-father's quite aggressive and violent though, which might be upsetting.