Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

I don't know how to proceed

Indrid ColdIndrid Cold Posts: 16,688 Skive's The Limit
I think it's going to be difficult to admit most of this. Even with all the confidence issues and the rest, I still have too much pride for my own good. I'm not sure if it fits better here or in another forum, as the problems are both practical and mental, but I think this is the place as practical advice is needed more urgently.

Last August, I finished a master's course on the subject I've wanted to work on since I was in high school, if not longer. I don't feel very confident saying what that is (although there's no logical reason not to), but it's more of a specialty. Before I went on the course, I had a job in the same field but a different specialty.

I began to look for jobs as soon as I finished the course, or technically I began to try to look for them. I realised too late that my lack of confidence makes my anxiety go over the top at the prospect of writing a cover letter, even worse at the idea of an interview.
It's not that I don't think I can do the job (or at least it wasn't -I'll come back to this) but I think I'm incapable of making a good enough impression when I first meet people. I'm good at being me, not pretending to be someone else, like a perfect employee who can do no wrong and knows the perfect thing to say or do at every occasion, which all advice on interviews I've read practically says I should do.

(Of course I did manage to get a job before, but back then the odds were more in my favour, for reasons that aren't really relevant here).