Home Politics & Debate
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Driving Age to be Raised to 18, then restricted for one year!

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
As a newly qualified driver I am sick of seeing the government(s) progressively put more and more obstacles in the way of people who want to get a driving license.

The latest proposals are for the age of driving test to be raised to 18, but not only that, according to the Independent:

"For a further 12 months the young person would be subject to a number of new restrictions, including a curfew from 10pm to 5am unless they were accompanied by an adult over 30, a ban on carrying any passengers at all under the age of 30, and stricter rules on mobile phone use (even hands-free) and alcohol consumption." (http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/driving-age-could-be-raised-to-18-in-uk--with-a-curfew-and-strict-rules-for-recentlyqualified-drivers-8873739.html)

So you're seriously telling me that a new driver who had two mates, John aged 30 and Jack age 29, it's time to go home at 10:30pm, John asks you "can we have a lift please?" You'd have to say "I can take you but can't take Jack in my car because he's 29 and I can only drive people over 30!" How ridiculous. And you only have to be 21 to be a driving instructor so Jack could actually be an instructor with an Advanced Driver's certificate, but no, he's hasn't reached the good old age of 30 so you he's not allowed in the backseat!

Ridiculous or what?

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Why is this just restricted to new young drivers? Why is the 40 year old new driver allowed whoever in their car?
  • Indrid ColdIndrid Cold Posts: 16,688 Skive's The Limit
    a ban on carrying any passengers at all under the age of 30