Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

How to Decide on a Dissertation Topic?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
I decided to get a little ahead of myself and start focusing on my dissertation...I know I could enjoy the time off but when I work 40+ hour weeks, a head start could do me numerous favours in the future!

So...my main question is; how did you guys choose your dissertation topic???

I am doing a degree in Business and my placement/career is in HR...my main area of interest is anything Psychology related so I like to combine the two, which has meant I have considered the following broad topics:

- Leadership
- Change
- Emotional Intelligence (Although I have covered this before when I got to do a similar but much smaller project)

I did also consider doing something around Absenteeism as this was a project I actively owned at work and had success with...

Also, do you have to base your research on a specific company?

Any ideas/suggestions/tips would be welcome..!
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Firstly, whatever you choose should be something that really interests you. As one of my lecturers put it "this dissertation will be your life". One thing which impacted my decision (rightly or wrongly) was knowing who the potential supervisors were - some work very differently to me and I knew I couldn't handle a project leader who thought it was okay to reduce students to tears repeatedly. I felt it was important that my dissertation links to further degrees and what I want in a career because I want to be able to use whatever I learn a few years down the line and not have it shoved to the dusty bits in my brain.