Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Benefits

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hi there, I'm new to this site but am hoping someone out there could offer some advice, my situation is I've been a chef for the last nine years since leaving school. After realising i want to change my career I'm now 25 and have been accepted on a access course with hope of going to UNi and completing a degree, my predicament is that I'm currently living in a flat paying 400 pound a month, plus bills! I leave full time employment in 2 weeks and honestly have nowhere else to go, is there any benefits I can receive in order to both live in my flat and pursue education? If so what steps any help Is appreciated thanks!!*:(

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    is the course full time or part time, do you have any dependent / a disability?
    Its a 3 day course so i can idealy work part time but not more then 16 hours. I don't have any disabilities and I'm completely Independant.
    Richard@ wrote: »
    Its a 3 day course so i can idealy work part time but not more then 16 hours. I don't have any disabilities and I'm completely Independant.

It's not even 16 hours in my past experiences. You'll be told conflicting information regarding that. It would be better for you to go visit your local Citizen's Advice and discuss your current expenses and what you'll be able to receive. With it being education too, you're not really entitled to much if it's more than 16 hours a week.
    You may not get something like JSA because you left voluntarily and have to be available for work full time, unless you have caring responsibilities which prevent this.