Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

problems as usual!!!!!!!

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
hello, I am a student and I have no money left and now my mums JSA has been sanctioned for 3 weeks so the three of us have to live off hardship payment of £60 for 3 weeks basically and £20 of that has gone on a bill already, anyway what I wanted to ask was how do you complain about the decision? and does the three weeks get backdated or not?? any clues because we need that money we are despartely poor here and can they 'not' pay her for three weeks even though she has a child???

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Why was she sanctioned?
    for not filling in her sheet properly from universal jobmatch that new stupid web thing!
    Seems like something that could be appealed to me. Usually when an appeal is made and upheld the payments are backdated.
    Being on JSA is awful, and the fact that sanctions are increasing, and staff at some branches of job centre are being encouraged to give more sanctions, is awful. If you are on JSA you have to be able to prove that you are looking for work and applying for jobs (usually at least 3 advertised jobs a week), and if you arent they sanction you (I thought it was usually a 4 week minimum)
    They tell you to log everything online ,but they cannot force you to so I always write down everything on paper, so I am sure no mistakes happen due to their awful website.
    You mum is perfectly entitled to appeal the decision if she thinks it is unfair and she was applying for jobs and can provide evidence for that. Here is a booklet with information on that http://www.direct.gov.uk/prod_consum_dg/groups/dg_digitalassets/@dg/@en/@benefits/documents/digitalasset/dg_201702.pdf