Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

I want to end this debate: 2:1 OR a first? Does it matter? (bioscience)

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
Hi,

I want to end this debate that keeps me up at night :shocking:

Currently, I am studying a Molecular biology degree at Hertfordshire University. Not the best uni in the world. I got in through clearing and have been aiming for a 1:1 ever since. In my first year I got a first class mark. Now, that I'm in second year I found the work stepped up a notch and my marks have dropped no lower than a 2:1. I have been applying for work placements and have actually been rejected even though I did well in my first year.:crazyeyes

What I want to know is... what do employers look for in a science graduate? I reckon it is work experience and have been trying to secure some. So does getting a 1:1 not matter? If so I would rather know now and not waste my time worrying x1000000 a day about how I'm going to struggle getting a first.
:banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:

Just as a sidenote, I am thinking of continuing to post grad studies, but I don't know whether to do a Msc or Phd
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Options
    In my experience (graduated a few years back with a similar degree to you) a 1st or 2.1 degree are useful if you want to continue to study at uni after graduating. If you want to go into the world of work it is less important. I got a 2.2 and went straight into a lab job with a private company.
    I got the impression that if continuing studying at uni is your goal, grades are very important