Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

A " normal " work day

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Having recently finished work for the day, it's got me thinking.

My job title is engineer; today at work I've taken on the role of graphic designer, inspector, technical clerk, marriage counsellor, tea maker, chemist and maths teacher.

How does anyone else's actual work day compare to job title?

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    I have an official job title on paper somewhere, dont know if i've ever seen it or not :P
    Unjamming the photocopier is by the far the most annoying
    And giving ICT lessons
    When I worked as a carer in sheltered accomodation I dont think my roles were made very clear. I was an underpaid skivvy/servant girl to OAPs with an attitude problem doing the most demeaning work e.g. having an old lady demand that i dry between her toes when she is fully capable of doing it herself and then having an official complaint made against me when I refused.

Favourite job ever... :rolleyes:
  • Indrid ColdIndrid Cold Posts: 16,688 Skive's The Limit
    Cleverly enough, my job title used to be "Informatics consultant" so that pretty much covered anything I'd do as long as it was related to computers.
    Technically, my job title is 'barista', not cashier, food server, table clearer, dish washer, toilet cleaner, floor sweeper, etc etc
    My job yesterday consisted of ICT technician and scarecrow.
  • LauraOLauraO Posts: 535 Incredible Poster
    Like this thread a lot :thumb: imagine if they actually put 'unjamming the photocopier' or 'making the tea' on your job description.

Whowhere - scarecrow??

Today my job includes posting photos in threads for TheSite's 16th Birthday Treasure hunt :D

8099596944_c3655567e0_o.jpg
    Mine is Account Manager.