Home Politics & Debate
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

80% of drivers believe they are better than the majority of drivers

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
It's a logical fallacy, isn't it?

Yet every. Single. Day. On my way home from work I encounter countless bad drivers who seemingly have their licence without any problem. There are junctions where I know for a fact people will dangerously break the highway code, and have to be extra vigilant because of this mass lemming effect.

Why are so many bad drivers on the road? I'm not a great driver, but crucially I am a safe driver. I still have two hands on the wheel. I still check my air and seating positions on a regular basis. I still check for cyclists, pedestrians and motorbikes every single time I change from stationary to moving, even if I'm in the middle of a dual carriageway.

It's not that hard to be at least adequate.

Comments

• SkiveSkive Posts: 15,282 Skive's The Limit
    There are plenty of bad drivers out there. MLM's (Middle Lane Morons) who sit in any one of the outside lanes whilst over taking absolutely fuck all, tend to be the worst. They sit in their middle lane with only half their attention on the road and through their ignorance are a danger to other motorists.
    They're too good to share a lane with lorry's and think that it's safer to stick to one lane. This causes other drivers to get upset when they cause a rolling road block and an upset driver is a dangerous driver. Often you'll find people who complain about tailgators are MLMs and don't even know it.

When I see somebody being stupid I don't have a problem letting them know. Have had a couple of physical altercations with cyclists in London. Wankers.
    Weekender Offender 
  • Indrid ColdIndrid Cold Posts: 16,688 Skive's The Limit