Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

assualted, lost job and now self harming!! new to site so be gentle with me!

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hi all,
just nice to be able to share in an hidden safe place without ( I hope judgement).

I am new to this and have always been a professional person who is seen as independant and a pretty strong if humourous personality. However i now find myself in a new position, that of being a survivor. Sadly I do not feel much like a survivor since being assualted two years ago and my life has gradually become a smaller place to live. And live is more of an existance. It has affected everything, my home life, my worklife, my friendships. I have lost my job in November since not coping and going into panic attacks and flashbacks, so let go through and hearing which concluded in loss of post due to capability affected by ill health.

My self esteem has always been wrapped up in my work an so now diagnosed with PTSD depression and anxiety! During the therapy it has emerged that i was abused by my father as a child, although i do not remember much of that.

I am about to say I started self harming in the last few months but the more I think about it the more I realise I have nearly always self harmed in some way to some degree in different ways.

I am now cutting and burning my arms and stomach. But I have taken more medication (on quite a large scale) and was considered a suicide attempt. In the past when I consider things I have purposely hit my head, my arms, I have withdrawn from eating and drinking for 6 days, and was admitted to hospital for a week. I even remember when I was younger I pulled massive lumps of my hair out.