Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Telling my boss i'm leaving

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
So after everything thats happened I have 2 options now. I can go for the completely new coffee shop job, or my old manager had agreed to let me go over to her shop but she can only give me 3 days a week for now. Im leaning towards going over the other store, even though its less hours.

The thing now is how do i tell my boss? Im not good with confrontation at all, and i dont want her to be angry with me. If i was going for the new job it would be fine but how do i tell her 'sorry but im going to the other shop'. Shes also going to ask why and i cant tell her 'its because i hate you, and being here with you is stressing me out'. What do i say?

Comments

• Options
    How much notice would you need to give before leaving? In terms of what to actually say, I don't think it would be too bad to say you're finding it increasingly stressful at work and that's why you want a change of scene. Keep it vague and if your boss is the confrontational type it will give her less reason to react. Maybe tell your boss towards the end of a shift when you know you'll have a day or two off work. Also have your written resignation ready (if it's needed) to give at the same time. It's never an easy situation to be in and if you're staying within the same chain, it might be worth having your new manager on standby to call if your current boss gives you any hassle. If you have any holiday owed to you it might be worth using it as part of your notice period if possible. Hope it goes ok for you
  • Options
    Thanks for that. Its been an emotional afternoon.

I rang my boss and she flipped out at me, telling me i cant leave and that shes talking to the regional manager, leaving me in floods of tears.