Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Quitting Uni

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
Im in my second year of a four year degree, and i want to quit, i have felt like i wanted to quit since the end of first year. I am studying nutrition and dietetics and i realised that i have no interest in this i do not want to tell people what they should or shouldnt eat, i have no motivation to do to do the work, and i do not enjoy uni life it is not for me! im just not sure what i want to do if i do quit? is it wise to quit or not?
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Well if you are really uninterested in the course then it might be worth quitting, but have you talked to anyone about this, either friends on the course or the tutors? It could be that you may be able to start doing something else, or if there are issues with the course they may be able to be sorted out.
    If you don't like doing the course now, would it be worth the money or time for you to continue and getting something useless at the end? Speak to your student services to give you better guidance and advice so you can come to a conclusion of what you want.
  • LauraOLauraO Posts: 535 Incredible Poster
    :wave: Joy2 and welcome to TheSite,

It sounds as though you are having a dilemma about whether to continue with a course that you have started and invested over a year in but don't enjoy. Four years is a long time to spend studying something you are not enjoying, and if you're not really getting the most out of student life either then perhaps it is a good idea to explore all your other options so you can weigh it all up and come to a decision that is best for you.

G-Raffe and JavaKyrpt have given you some good advice about speaking to friends and the University.