Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Another 4 years of Uni?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
So, I am currently studying Law and I thought that’s what I wanted to do. I’ve enjoyed all the work experience that I’ve done over the years and I’m genuinely passionate about it. However, before settling on law as a career I considered going into teaching.

Now I’m beginning to think that law was the wrong choice and that I really should have picked teaching. However, the problem is if I decided that teaching is what I really should be doing I can’t just do the PGDE. Law doesn’t allow you to teach anything in Scotland. I’d need to go back to uni for another 4 years at a cost of around 8,000 plus living expenses for four years. I’d also be 29 the time I started my probationary job (which isn’t all that old I know, but would mean I’d have avoided having a proper job for the best part of 12 years).

So, looking for advice here...
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• LauraOLauraO Posts: 535 Incredible Poster
    :wave: Avizandum,

Having done a bit of research you are completely right about needing a degree to do the PGDE or needing to do another 4 years of study, and it's understandable that you feel a bit frustrated with this :banghead: as it's a lot of time and money. Which year are you in of your law degree at the moment? And what kind of teaching are you interested in?

These websites are pretty useful for explaining it all so check them out if you haven't already stumbled across them in your searches.
    - http://www.teachinginscotland.com/902.455.675.html
    - http://www.scotland.gov.uk/Publications/2007/10/11152113/2