Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Help with Self Harming

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
My friend has recently started self harming herself, this is something she has done before, but not for a long time. I wondered if anyone could help me out as I don't quite know how to deal with this. I have no knowledge of this whatsoever and would appreciate any advise. I obviously would like to help her in any way I can, but am so afraid, because of my ignorance on the subject I may make matters worse.

Comments

• AuroraAurora Posts: 11,722 An Original Mixlorian
    Hello Eileens,

How you doing? It's good to hear you want to help your friend so much, have you spoke to your friend about why she might be doing this to herself? Lodes of people use self harm as a release pain to cover other stuff going on in their lives, why not speak to your friend about getting herself some help? Do you have a school nurse you would be able to go to about this? This might be helpful to you, why do people self harm, it's a article that will help you understand why people do it http://thesite.org/healthandwellbeing/mentalhealth/selfharm/whydopeopleselfharm Might be worth checking out. You could also show your friend a article on Dealing with urges like this one http://thesite.org/healthandwellbeing/mentalhealth/selfharm/dealingwithurges, or why not mention TheSite.org to her, their is a lot useful info on way's she can cope with self harm and alternatives *hug*
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Hi eileens:wave:,

Im a sorry to hear that your friend is going through a tough time at the moment and I understand that it is difficult for you as you are feeling worried about her.

Thanks for coming to us and posting your concerns on the site we are here to help !