Home Politics & Debate
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Global Women's Rights

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
It's estimated that 90% of women in Afghanistan experience domestic violence. Take Aisha for example, whose nose and ears were cut off after attempting to flee a marriage which she was forced in to at sixteen. In many countries, rape is seen as a weapon of war, or so frequent in some societies that a device called the Rapex, which hooks on to a man's penis and can only be removed by a hospital, has been invented. Women also disproportionately are affected by poverty, partly due to lack of education, discrimination, employment, lack of control of assets... In fact, Unifem estimate women could make up 70% of the world's poorest....

I studied human rights for my degree with a slant gender in a few of my essays and found that often, people are afraid to discuss gender within some cultures because of fear of imposing some kind of cultural imperialism. I guess it's kind of similar to when Peter Tatchell has gotten accusations of racism or antisemitism for criticising people's attitude towards homosexuality...

Meh... I could probably write a lot here, as I did my dissertation on this topic and apologies if this isn't at all articulate. My point is that people often seem to be afraid of touching the gender issue globally, but also in communities in the UK (there's an awesome book about Southall Black Sisters and another about Is Multiculturalism Bad for Women). However, I came across an article this morning which offered an approach to gender equality I'd not seen in mainstream press...

Ruth Sunderland is looking at economic arguments for global women's equality.