Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Post-university

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hi,

I just wanted to get a sense of perspective and see what others think.

I just wondered if many people find the transition from university or education to be a difficult one ?

I graduated in 2007, but in my own case I had already been unwell at university with mental health problems.

Possibly my experiences are different to others, but there may be some similarities. Due to being unwell I wasn't sure of the best course of action. I got involved with some voluntary work which then led to becoming involved with my local MIND after moving back home.

What I've tried to do is to learn about why I was unwell and what things I can do to help myself, so I have done a lot of courses run at my local MIND and tried to read about the subject of mental health. Seeing as I had several psychotic episodes at university hopefully I have done the right thing by taking a step back and putting the career on hold a little bit.

I have tried to do things relating to developing a career by doing voluntary work and some internships but I think in the grand scheme of things it's maybe been better not to have had a 35 hour a week job - maybe it could have made me unwell.

It's tricky though as I think unemployment throws up problems - at first I had no idea about the benefits system and was on JSA, although I have subsequently applied for some health-related benefits having been advised by my local Advocacy but have been knocked back by the Department for Work and Pensions.