Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Improving your mental wellbeing + how to stay well in work

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hi,

In terms of my own experiences I developed mental health problems whilst at university in the form of psychotic episodes and have been diagnosed with schizophrenia.

The episodes I had were in 2004 and 2005. I graduated despite the problems in 2007 and shortly afterwards became involved with my local MIND.

There I have done a range of courses and developed a wellness recovery action plan.

I guess my question is what ideas do you have for me to continue to improve my wellbeing and develop ?

Part of that question is also what are good things you think to do if life does become harder for whatever reason (I can maybe add any ideas to my WRAP plan.)

I do believe I am progressing. The next stage is to get into paid employment.

Since university I have had bits of paid work, but done quite a lot of voluntary, but then the job climate hasn't been that great. However, I think it's been best to have been doing what I've been doing and learning about mental health I think.

It is certainly broad though.

Currently job searching and have been developing a WRAP for work - if you have any ideas about staying well whilst looking for work but also in work please share.

It's currently the whilst looking for work part that I'd like ideas on as it is pretty tricky to find a job.

I'm hopeful that I can make the transition to work, but it's maybe a little bit fear of the unknown.

I think voluntary work has helped a bit in terms of preparation

Comments

• Options
    **helen****helen** Deactivated Posts: 9,235 Supreme Poster
    Hey Mark,