Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Norethisterone.

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
My girlfriend's coming over from the 3 to the 8 of August. I don't really want to be on my period because of swimming/sex/camping. I don't really know when my periods are going to happen, but last time was the very beginning of July, so the beginning of August seems plausible.

I looked on the internet about Norethisterone, and there's loads of people saying that they'd never ever take it again. A few people said that it causes nausea and vomiting (I'm not good with feeling sick at all, it totally throws me off) and others said that it causes awful PMS (I already get it bad enough, to the point where I often cannot see the point in getting out of bed, my self harm gets more out of control, and my behaviour towards other people is totally erratic.) Are these side effects normal with Norethisterone, or are they rare? There's no point not being on my period if I'm throwing up and wanting to kill myself.

On the other hand, is there a way I can kind of make myself start my period this week, like by thinking about it or eating lots of something?

Thank you lovely people :)

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Hey!

This sounds pretty odd but my ex used to use these things http://www.nuvaring.com/Consumer/index.asp that you put up there and then you can choose when to have a period, so rather than trigger one now you could stall it, maybe?

(Please take note that I am a guy and have no idea of the risks of stopping a period by a week or so)
    ive had norithisterone, and i wouldnt take it again.