Home General Chat
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Should I Quit the Gym?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited January 2023 in General Chat
I've been running for 3 months now and am loving it... I'm training for a half marathon in September and a marathon next April... I'm currently on 10K...

I'm thinking about leaving the gym, as it eats up my money. I have kettlebell weights and know exercises I can do and would like to focus on running...

Would this be a good idea?
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    if you prefer running, do that, at least its free.
    Ive pretty much given up the gym in favour of running
    Yeah... Think I will... It'll save me £50 a month too!
    If you're running, an dyou want to be a runner then forget the weights they won't help you.

The best practice for your sport is to do it (stands to reason) so yes, I'd bin the gym if I were you, if you've got a set of kettlebells there isnt much you cant do.

Only reason I ever went to a gym was because I needed heavy weight!
    Depends on how you might feel in the winter months and whether you want to use alternative equipment to help your training programme (variety etc.) Also think about potential running injuries, the gym is great for rehab and strengthening. Check out your gym contract, some allow you to take a payment holiday, maybe you could put membership on hold for a couple of months
    My brother has just come back up north from uni, at the moment till he gets paid he is trying the "free trial" offers at several gyms to keep himself going till he can afford to sign up to one!
    she'll need to run all winter anyway cos shes got the brighton marathon in april :thumb: