Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Finding universities

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
How do I go about finding where to go if I'm not quite sure yet what I want to do a masters degree on?

To clarify, I have a BSc degree in business and work in aviation. I'd like to combine those two somehow but don't know what's on offer or how to find it. To complicate further I want to go to a uni abroad as there's nothing on offer in my own country.

Any tips? Is it all about searching/googling until you find something suitable?
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    You can search by subject for funded/ part funded courses here http://www.postgraduatestudentships.co.uk
    It's difficult to really advise you if you don't know what you want to study or where you want to study it. Before you commit to anything I'd suggest you have a good long think about what it is that you want to study and then research which universities offer the best courses in that field.

Postgraduate study is difficult, you're expected to work largely independently so it's important that you choose a subject that you actually enjoy studying. It's really more important that you study something you enjoy than it is to study in a town that you enjoy- you'll be expected to be studying for at least 30 hours a week, mostly in independent research, so you really do have to love what you're studying.