Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Considering moving - but where to?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I currently live in Plymouth. It's impossible to find any IT jobs or office based (admin, etc) jobs. I am seriously considering moving. However, I think there are a few issues here:
- I am a part-time student. Due to that and disability, working full-time is a big no-no. I managed to work full-time over Christmas; but that was it - I wasn't a student.
- The last time I moved out, was for uni. I had severe depression issues and am worried this is going to happen again.
- The cost. I am currently on job seekers allowance and DLA. Many landlords don't accept local housing allowance (previously housing benefit) - even then, it's not much. And I don't want to particularly live with strangers. I am only entitled to the shared room rate - which really won't get me anything.
- I am currently under investigation for some sort of muscular / neurological disorder and have other long standing disabilities. I'm not sure if moving is going to totally mess everything up. I don't want to start from scratch again with regards to the investigations I'm having - because at times, they have been very painful.

I have relatives and a few friends in London. However, aside from one, I don't really know the relatives that well. I was told last year that I could move in with my mum's dad and step mum in Kent. However, to me, they're strangers. I've spoke to her dad a few times; but don't know them like that. On that note, what is the IT / computing industry like in Kent?

Comments

• Options
    I can't believe there are genuinely no admin/data entry jobs in Plymouth. Pretty much every temp agency in the country has windows full of the things. Part time might be your big problem, but moving to another area won't solve that one.