Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Worthless feelings

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hey guys,

Basically I'm in my second year of University now and have been feeling pretty worthless about everything. I do a degree in English, which already has me worried because of the terrible job market stories I've been hearing all too much of recently.

Secondly, I attend a really badly ranked University (having dropped loads of places) and been told by untold amounts of people that employers will take a sharp sigh when they see where I graduated and just throw my CV in the bin!

I see other of my friends either at Oxbridge institutions, or top flight Uni's and see people studying degrees that really contribute to society (e.g. medicine/engineering) and I've been getting really depressed about feeling worthless with no job prospects and not studying anything that contributes to society.

:/ Sorry if this comes across as all sentimental....

Thanks for hearing out my vent!

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Look on the bright side, at least you're in Higher Education - focuss yourself, get the best degree you can and take it from there. I went to a decent ranked uni and totally fucked up leaving with no degree, no money and nowhere to sleep other than a couch, so you're pretty much guaranteed to better than I did.

If you're at a really poorly ranked insititution and it's really bothering you, you can always consider a transfer...if your grades are good, other unis may consider taking you on. Or, you can do a second degree - you can get funded for this even with an exisiting degree with certain courses such as social work I believe. So to think its all worthless is more than a little premature.
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru