Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Council Tax Nightmare

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hiya,

Really need some advice, partially to do with relationships and partially to do with a council tax issue. I'll try and keep this brief.

When I was a student I lived in a house which was shared. We each rented our room on an individual tenancy agreement. I signed onto the council tax and took down my exemption letter and nobody else who lived there ever bothered to put themselves on the council tax.

When i graduated I asked me landlord about council tax and he said it had been included in my rent all along. I started getting bills and the council, when i spoke to them, said it was fine and everything was sorted with the landlord. I told them I moved and thought nothing of it for 2 years.

Two years later I'm getting letters and threatening baliffs letters from the council about an outstanding amount from when I graduated. It's got the point where I will not be held liable for this amount if I can prove the property is an HMO. I've managed to get one of the people who I used to live with to send me their's which is great but in order for it to be an HMO it needs to be three seperate tenants and not just two.

Another friend has said he has his and will give it to me, but his mum has it and wants it all in writing why I need this etc etc so they can't get any backlash. There's been toing and froing between him and myself for the last two weeks and I still haven't got this piece of paper. My whole case rests on this.

I've provided him with everything he has requested, I know he has it but I can't even get him to answer a message or a phone call now.