Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

how can I get out of uni halls...

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I need to leave uni halls, but i'm being told that I have to find someone else to find to pay the extortionate £171.50 per week for a double studio room. I want to be out by the beginning of April, and I believe that the person I find has to be another student (and I've been told it is my responsiblity to find someone to fill my vacancy, not the landlord) - and its going to be impossible to find someone else for only 12 weeks.

I am having to leave, as I've been being harrassed by my neighbours to the stage where they urinated on my door and I had to call the police. I've had threats, loud music all times of day and night, and I can't stand it any longer! I'm a final year student, and I cannot get my work done at home (and the library is no better, its used as a common room). I've been complaining to the managment about this for months and it was only when the police were called that they did anything (2 of my neighbours are on final warnings, but as you can guess, this has meant I get a icey reception from everyone they know in halls).

I have been told I can give next to no notice if i have someone else move in, but otherwise, even if i leave, I will liable for the rent until the last week of June.

I'm going to have a close look at my tenancy agreement, but does this sound legal? I'm thinking that they have failed their duty as landlords due to the fact that they did not take appropriate action soon enough, and its unfair to make me stay if I now feel unsafe (and I really do, I worry that I'm going to get a brick through my window or shit in a box through my door)

What do i do? Uni halls seem to be a power on to themselves!

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru