Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Been asked to leave college course

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
I have been studying at my local college for the past 2 years. First I did my GCSE's then last year I did a course that is meant to help you get a job at the end of it.

I had been doing really successfully in the courses in the past and so this year I started to do a Business Course that in the end you get A levels out of it. Level BTEC National Diploma in Business My attendance has been 98% and I have handed in all of my Assignments on the deadline or before the deadline.

When I got my results back it turns out that I had failed a total of 5 Assignments. This is quite bad.

Before the day we broke up for half term I was told by my course tutor that he is going to kick me off the course.

I was wondering if this has happened to anyone else and what they did?

Do you think it is fair that they have kicked me off the course even know my attendance is 100%?

How am I going to break this to my parents?
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Are they summative or formative assignments?

If the asssignments count towards your course mark, failing five of them means you won't be able to get a good mark, if any at all. Turning up counts for precious little if you don't have the ability or dedication to actually pass the course.
    Have you had any kind of discussion about your performance before?

It seems unusual, but not impossible, that you could get this far through, get one set of marks back and be asked to leave without being given the chance to try and improve your performance or look for alternatives.

Have your previous marks on this course been ok?
  • LauraOLauraO Posts: 535 Incredible Poster