Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Being a Private Tutor

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hey folks,

I'm a newly qualified teacher (yay) for secondary English, Media and Drama and have secured a job for the coming academic year but so far have found no temp work to tie me over for the summer. Admittedly, I get my first pay August 15th so I can't moan too much.

Anyway, it will be my first teaching year. I've been thinking about putting out cards offering myself as a private tutor. I know the demand is low over the holidays and it will be term time, but I wanted to know :

a) Anyone has done this and what have their experiences been.

b) What is your lesson content? I mean, what do you cover in an hours lesson as I realise it is not typical teaching but are you trying exam questions, teaching exam techniques, completing homework with them - what do you cover in your lesson with them?

c) Rates of pay? I'm based in North East - sort of London/Essex!

d) How many students can you juggle at any one time and what days do you private tutor?

e) Do you think it is reasonable to cope with my first years full time teaching and take on extra pupils.

Just to fill in, I am a qualified certified teacher and my first degree was in Drama. Although I did not take it at A level I have English lit A* GCSE and English Lang BA (double award course) GCSE.

Thanks folks!

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    oooo hello again! :wave: