Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Advice ?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hi,

Just wanted to look for some advice/support. I graduated three years ago and am still not exactly sorted work-wise.

At university I had mental health problems which affected me quite a lot. Work-wise since university I have looked for work, but have done a lot of voluntary work, some interships and temping. I've had quite a lot of interviews but have not been offered the job.

I feel that I have done things to help get myself into work and I have applied for a lot of jobs, but at the same time I've made it more of a priority to learn more about mental health and staying well by going to my local MIND where I do courses and self-management tools training (Wellness Recovery Action Plan.)

Currently I'm doing an NVQ in Advice and guidance and applying for part time jobs to fit in with the course, but still keeping up with mental health courses and learning.

I think I've got my priorities right and in general am doing ok, but I guess it's a case of keep on doing what I am doing.

It's hard to get a job at the moment. I have applied for things recently but haven't heard back. To be honest I've always been clueless about what I'd like to do, but now I like the look of advice and guidance having tried it voluntarily.

If I generally feel I am doing ok do you think it's a reasonable idea to try and make the transition to work ? Perhaps just keeping on with the mental health courses is best whilst looking.

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Hello,