Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Periods, swimming and tampons

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Could do with a little advise please:

I've started swimming and have been told that if I want to swim whilst on, I should use a tampon. I have never used tampons before. I've tried several times to use them; but can't manage to insert them.

Are there any alternatives? Is there an easy way to insert them? I have instructions on how to use them; but I really can't follow the instructions. (maybe because it's mostly pictures and I'm partially sighted)

ETA: I had some blood this morning around 9am. It's now almost 5.55pm; but have had nothing all day. Is this normal? Am I ok to go swimming without anything?

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Depends how heavy your flow is. Apparently some people find that when swimming/in the bath they don't have any leakage so it isn't really a problem for them going without. Personally I don't fall into that category, but if you've had nothing since this morning then I'd guess you'd be alright, but only you know your body.

Obviously I wouldn't try it in a light coloured swim suit/bikini.

As for learning to use tampons, I'd imagine a quick google would find you some instructions online. My suggestions would be:
    1. to try buying the compact ones, they've got a plastic applicator which is slidier
    2. Use mini's or ultra light or whatever they happen to be called, in tampax they're a purple packet, they are apparently easier for first timers
    3. It's easiest when your flow is heaviest
    4. You need to point the tampon diagonally backwards, towards the small of your back rather than vertically up, it's surprisingly close to horizontal if you've got vertical on your mind.