Home Politics & Debate
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

No limits on tuition fees

2»

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Is the new 21k threshold likely to apply to people with existing student loans? I can't imagine it will, but it'd be pretty sweet for me if it did.

I highly doubt it. And are you sure you'd want it? It's a higher threshold, but with added interest and a higher percentage. If they offered me a chance to replace my existing contract, I'd probably turn it down and stick with the old one.
    So pleased I voted Lib Dem now :rolleyes:
    Whilst a part of me feels university was a wasted effort any way... In a sense I am kinda glad I went when I did because I would not have gone if I had to pay £3K a year, never mind anything more!

I had 2 part time jobs whilst I studied. I tried to get hardship in March of my final year, but they had no money for students. To be honest, my part time jobs have been more use than a degree in human rights. :rolleyes: I'd like to study a postgrad one day, but will have to wait and see if the economy improves and if I can get a better paying job. I'll probably study abroad though, as it's cheaper.

I don't think they should make courses more expensive, they should just make them harder to get in to. If somebody fails because they drank their funding away and didn't attend classes, they should be made to appeal or wait a couple of years to go back (i.e. if you had mental health problems, that's a different case to being a waster).

I'm not really surprised by the changes... If you want a career in a lot of sectors, you need to have money to be able to either work for free in London, or have the money to do an expensive postgrad... It doesn't surprise me that now, working class people are going to struggle to afford to go to university as well...