Home Drink & Drugs
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Dihydrocodiene withdrawal, any advice?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hi everyone, I am new to this so hope I have done it right..

I have been on Dihydrocodiene for probably 13 years now, and for the last 6 years at least I have been taking about double what I should've been, but I had no choice as it seemed the only way to stop the pain.. I suffer with osteo-athritis, in my spine, hip, knees and now my wrists... Bit of a bugger as I am only 42.
We recently moved away and I had to leave the doctor that I had been under for about 10 years, he knew that I wasn't just some junkie wanting a high and would prescribe me 224 x 30mg and 56 x 90mg(MR) tablets each month, (working out at approximately 400mg per day usually) and more often than not I would have to take the majority of them.
I had been under the pain clinic a few years before all this and tried every painkiller from Gabapentin to amitryptoline etc, and for me the DF118's (Dihydrocodiene) worked best... When I first saw my new G.P and explained that I was on so many and why, also that my old G.P had said that he was more than happy to discuss why I was on so many, the new one just refused to give me more than 240mg per day and would not ring the old G.P.. :banghead:
So I was just left to drop the tablets by a big amount per day, as it happens, I had a few extra ones from the days that I didn't take them all, but now they have stopped working altogether and last thursday the Doc told me to stop taking the DF118's, and put me on Diclofenac, Tramadol, Paracetamol and the Hydroxycloroquine that the Rheuamatologist put me on... Not a mention of withdrawl or what to expect..