Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Recovery journey

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
In general I feel I am doing quite well, but for the time being I think I should keep on doing what I am doing.

Since first year of university in 2004 I have seen a psychiatrist after ending up in hospital and whilst at university I had two psychotic episodes and several bouts of depression.

It's now three years since I graduated and I feel reasonably good. I got involved with my local MIND a couple of months after I graduated and have completed a Wellness Recovery Action Plan and have attended a number of personal development and wellbeing courses. I've also worked in the south of France since university which was great and been doing voluntary work for some local charities.

I've been trying to educate myself as much as possible about mental health and wellbeing and trying to gain insights into why I was ill - I think it's helped so far, although I still have a great deal to learn.

I've just finished reading a book called Madness Explained by Richard Bentall which has given me a few more insights. I emailed him whilst at the University of Manchester and he told me that bullying could cause psychotic episodes, so I think that nastiness from people as a teenager is something that played a contributory factor at least.

I think some of the problems I had were :
low self esteem
poor body image
low on confidence
anxious around the opposite sex
general negative style of thinking.

Personally I think a lot of this was as a result of the nastiness I experienced as a teenager and with 'conditioning' I believed some bad things that were said.