Home Drink & Drugs
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

ideas for lecture

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Anyone have any ideas what I can lecture to recovering addicts?

I've been volunteering at a drug and alcohol rehab facility for a few months now. At first, the head councilor asked me if I can take a case so I did. It became apparent to me however that I wasn't any good at it. In my opinion, my inefficiency came from the fact that I wasn't at the rehab all the time (since I was just volunteering, I just go there to talk to my 'client' or when I would bring undergrads to help do assessment). So I wasn't able to monitor his process while within the facility. Furthermore, because I'm not so enmeshed with the processes in the facility, I found that I was ill equipped to counsel people who are in a controlled environment.

So I spoke to the head councilor and I asked him if I could just do something else. I was planning to take up that hour and half a week of wasted time that was allotted for our group to supposedly do activities/lectures/psychotherapy (the guy who's supposed to be doing this is a louse and isn't doing anything). Initially, I was thinking of trying out group therapy, but I find that a group of 20+ individuals is too big for a group. So I was thinking of doing lectures or activities, but I don't know where to start.

If anyone can share some ideas on lectures or activities (that don't directly tackle addiction) that they think might help recovering addicts, please do share.

Thanks for those that might share. :)

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru