Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Signing onto JSA (special circumstances) while going on holiday?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hello, this is my first time posting here.

I was wondering if anyone had any helpful information they could share with me. So my situation is, i recently lost me full time job, i decided to sign back onto JSA (special circumstances, since im under 18(17): my special circumstances being 'low income') so i have to go through another 'interview' to check my eligibility to recieve this benefit. My first scheduled interview was the end of May(sorry i don't remember the exact date), however shortly after arriving they asked when i was last paid, i told them the 25th of that month, I was told that i was not able to recieve a payment for another month after this date. After speaking with some financial advisor (friend) they seemed not able to help me, so i accepted this, my interview was re-scheduled to the 25th of April. Close to this date i see that my old employee had put another 90£ into my account (this is the rest of what I earned in May) but their payment system meant that i only jsut recieved it. So i immediatly phoned the job centre to tell them (i was guessing my interview would be re-scheduled again) and sure enough it was, but only 2 weeks after this date, since it was a low amount that had gone into my account this time.

So now im due to have my new interview on the 7th June (nothing booked, around this time they told me i can make my new claim) so fair enough, i need to wait untill this later date is due. However to make things even more complex, me, and my family have recently booked a 25 day trip to the USA, due to leave on the 14th June.

So what should i do ?