Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

is this reasonable for graduation?

2»

Comments

• Options
    Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Kaff wrote: »
    If you can, I'd find out what your robes are going to be like before getting too hung up about things like length.

And the colour of the hood - make sure whatever you get doesn't clash.

I was quite formal with both my graduations. At Bristol I wore a cream shirt and black skirt, and for my PhD graduation I wore a black dress:

I did see people with short skirts/dresses when I graduated, I think the main rule of thumb is to look smart and wear something you can imagine going to work in, I reckon.
  • Options
    Meryn wrote: »
    And the colour of the hood - make sure whatever you get doesn't clash.

I was quite formal with both my graduations. At Bristol I wore a cream shirt and black skirt, and for my PhD graduation I wore a black dress:

I did see people with short skirts/dresses when I graduated, I think the main rule of thumb is to look smart and wear something you can imagine going to work in, I reckon.

Ooh hello
  • Options
    Meryn wrote: »
    ... I think the main rule of thumb is to look smart and wear something you can imagine going to work in, I reckon.

:yes:

Graduation pics don't change much over the decades. Avoid flowers and frills, whatever the length. Be like a bride and think of the photographs. You want to wear your robe with pride. Don't put something underneath it that will distract attention either at the ceremony or in future, when you look at the photos. Spend your money on a great hairdo and shoes.
  • Options
    I don't know if this is your kind of thing but I think this would look quite nice :)http://www.debenhams.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/prod_10001_10001_142010291343_-1?breadcrumb=Home~Designers~Women~Dresses