Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

car insurance

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I am getting some really silly quotes to insure a car as a first time driver, is there any way of getting a cheaper quote maybe if the car was down as my mums and i was an additional driver or is it better if its in my name.
Anyone found any good deals for new drivers because i can't find anything under £1300 which is £900 more than the car cost :lol:
I am still a learner and 17 though will be 18 soon if that would make it any cheaper.

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Louisek wrote: »
    I am getting some really silly quotes to insure a car as a first time driver, is there any way of getting a cheaper quote maybe if the car was down as my mums and i was an additional driver or is it better if its in my name.
    Anyone found any good deals for new drivers because i can't find anything under £1300 which is £900 more than the car cost :lol:
    I am still a learner and 17 though will be 18 soon if that would make it any cheaper.

Not much, try Crowthorne, they are a broker and got me and my bro a good deal, my sister whos a driving instructor swears by them. very good for young/new drivers.
    Might be worth looking into putting it in your mums name while you're still a learner, although that would need her to actually be the main driver of it. Insurance companies tend to see through fronting very very quickly.

Being 18 will help slightly, but not much. Having a full license will also probably help, ask when you call whether pass plus would help. Best offer I got (a long time ago) was from Diamond.
    The main thing to do is to start building up your own no claims bonus as soon as possible, as it's that that has the most effect on the price really.
    Mist wrote: »