Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

learned my lesson from stealing but...

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I did a really bad thing recently. I stole £35 from my friend and he caught me. I admitted it to him and gave him all the money back but now he has called the police and are waiting for the police to contact him so they can come and arrest me. What will happen to me? I've already admitted the crime and paid him back, will I be arrested and get a criminal record? I know I did a really bad thing but I've been to see a counsellor and the reason I stole was because my housemates were bullying me and I wanted to retaliate and I did that by doing the worse thing possible.
I know I don't deserve any help but I'm really scared because I've never done anything like this before and I have paid the money back and am seeing someone about why I did this.
Please could someone advise me about the police. :crying:

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Are you sure the police are coming?

I don't think you should worry about it too much as theft is defined by intent to permenantly withold something from someone, which seeing as you've already giving it back doesn't actually fit. (although, I'm not a lawyer so, don't take my word for it). If the popo come, even if you told them the truth you wouldn't get in much trouble. I'd guess at a caution.

Don't worry about it.