Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Those that have recovered from depression - how do you prevent a relapse?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I was never 'officially' diagnosed (due to drs not listening and refusing to believe a teenager could have depression), but I had depression a few years back. I recovered and have been really good for the last 18 months or so. But I'm now going through a rough time (uni stress, had to end things with someone i liked, house stress as well as work stress). Nothing seems to be going well and I'm feeling pretty low again. I've been off my food, feeling bad about myself, and earlier I suddenly had an urge to SH again (something that I haven't done in years), it came out of nowhere and I was really surprised I felt like that. It soon passed but I'm not good atm and I'm worried I'm going to go down another downward spiral and end up where I was a few years ago. Now, my question is to those that have got through depression, how do you keep positive and on track? I've got pleanty to keep me busy but I need a bit more. Any advice?

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Erm, this might sound odd but it was recommended to me and has really helped. Every morning when you wake up you sit and write 3 pages of how you're thinking and feeling and then you don't look at it and you don't show it to anybody. I find it's a really good way of just getting everything out of my system, especially when I wake up thinking 'Oh man, this is gonna be shit day' before anything has happened. Other than that, I'm not sure. Hope things start to pick up.
    I make sure I tell myself that bad days happen to anyone, me included, and remind myself of what I've achieved and things that have made me happy.