Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Depression, CBT and friendships

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hey, newbie here and really hoping for some insight on this. Have been suffering from depression for the best part of a year and have been on pills for that length of time. My doctor wants me to have a course of cognative behavioural therapy (which I am more than happy to do) and so I have, in preparation, been reading a book on it.

One of the aspects appears to me to be 'confronting' people - in a pleasant way - rather than letting things slide or build up - to resolve issues. Effective communication stopping things becoming a big scary mountain to climb I guess. However, I can see areas which could result in losing close friendships which could cause upset - both to them and to me - and I'm not sure how that's actually going to help.

Best example. I have a female best friend. I have always had close female friends. But I have fallen for this one. We spend a lot of time together, are ridiculously close and everyone says we are perfect for each other. Part of my depression is undoubtedly caused by this. I have never said anything because I know she doesn't feel that way for me (she has said so to a mutual friend) but it's becoming harder for me to deal with. Of course, CBT would say I should talk to her about it, but if I do that I will lose the best friend I have had and who has been hugely supportive through all this. It will make things awkward and because we are members of the same organisations, not seeing each other will be impossible without me cutting out everything that keeps me well!