Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

A bumper bump..

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Ive been driving for almost 9 months now and today upon arriving home from college, there was a car parked on the road half way between my house and next door (Semi-detatched) where i usually park outside my house so i pulled onto the driveway.

After a few minutes of getting in i realised my mum would be home soon and that i should be able to fit my car outside after all as there was just enough space, i went out and reversed my car up to the back of this silver citroen.
I got out once to check how close i was then reversed a little more before stopping, and here is where i made the mistake.

I took my foot off the clutch as i was putting my handbrake on thinking id took it out of gear when i hadn't, resulting in my car lurching backwards slightly but getting caught by the handbrake resulting in me just clipping the bumper.

I immediately got out to check for damage on the other vehicle (Not bothered about my corsa) and so did the other guy who was aparently in his car which i hadnt noticed.

He came storming over with "ARE YOU BLIND OR SOMETHING?!" to which i explained the mistake id made and immediately appologised asking if he could see any damage, fully prepared to swap details. I pulled forward and we checked to find there was no visible damage from what we could tell)

I checked he was ok and he said it was fine and got back in his car and drove off. Parking a little up the road.

I was suprised he didn't want to swap details but it made me anxious that he moved and then stopped again, (Taking down my number plate?) He was there for around 15 minutes before leaving.