Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Cover Letters

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Heeey. So, I am job-hunting and I decided that I would really love to work at the MAC counter in Canterbury, because I am far more passionate about it than I could ever be about any other retail job. The website says to send a CV (which I have, all retail/customer service focused) and a cover letter to an address in London etc. But I have no experience in the industry whatsoever, all I have is enthusiasm. Soooo what do I write? Loads of people have said "you should be a make-up artist" to me, but I can't really write that in a cover letter.

Bah, stupid job-hunting ;(.

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    focus on the enthusiasm part..?
    Yeh, I guessed that, but I really have no idea what else to put in a cover letter. I've never done one before and I really really suck at things like this.
  • Olly_BOlly_B Posts: 222 Trailblazer
    Hi,

The answer is to write what the recruiter wants to read (and make sure you can back it up).

Think of recruiting someone like any other investment. There is a risk that you will recruit someone who is terrible, but equally there is huge "profit" to be made out of recruiting someone who is good at their job. So as a recruiter you are essentially doing what happens in every other business transaction: looking for maximum profit from minimum risk.

So identify you risks and eliminate/reduce them in your letter. The big risk is that you don't have any previous experience in this sector. How do you reduce that risk? The company would have to train you, but actually they'd have to train most people. The two distinct things you need to be good at are (a) doing make-up and (b) dealing with customers.