Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

'single status' meeting at work

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
no it's nothing to do with relationships lol

i work in a school as support staff and on tuesday we have a meeting to discuss 'single status' - from what i've read it's quite confusing is there anyone who can break it down a bit for me? the HR lady who told us about it has said that we'll find out about it when we have the meeting, from experience, this is never a good thing and there's a lot of websites dedicated to saying it's an excuse for paycuts more than anything else :s

can anyone fill me in on this?

Comments

• Options
    http://www.atl.org.uk/pay-and-pensions/pay-background/pay-background-support-staff.asp

just found this :s this is quite confusing, also would it be advisable to quickly sign up to a union if need be?
  • Options
    I interviewed a candidate for a job who kept banging on about 'single status'. I thought he was talking about his relationship.

From what I understood, it means down grading staff and sacking people. :thumb:
  • Options
    As I understand it, the idea is that for support staff across a local authority there should a single scale for evaluating pay scales and conditions for employees.

From reading through the link this means that a local authority would need to evaluate where staff will sit on this single scheme - rather than having one scheme for school support workers, and others for other support roles across the council.

I'm guessing that the problem comes in because local authorities may use this to evaluate roles below where staff believe they should be - or evaluate them to be below the pay scale they are currently on.