Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Terrified of having General Anaesthetic

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I've gotta have my impacted Wisdom Teeth out. Have to go to Hospital Day Surgery Unit & have General Anaesthetic :eek: :eek: i liove in England uk.

This is my first time time in Hospital & Operation
Petrified of General Anaesthetic, scared i'll die under Anaesthetic

Plz help i'm so scared - & it's fear of the unknown. also terrified of hospitals.
what will happen if i have a severe allergic reaction to the general anaesthetic ?! :crying:

I'm not brave enough to go through with it

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    It's not without it's risks just like any medical procedure but many go through it everyday and have no lasting effects.
  • Indrid ColdIndrid Cold Posts: 16,688 Skive's The Limit
    Apparently it's statistically safer to have general anaesthetic than to drive (or get driven) to the hospital in a car.
    I've had general anaesthetic before. There's nothing to it, its just like going to sleep.
    Are you getting gas or injection?
    Mine was an injection into my arm. I'm not great with needles, but as soon as the anaesthetic kicked in I was out like a light, the next thing I know I'm being wheeled back to the ward, operation over.
    Obviously it is scary especially if you have never had it before! But you have to remember, yes, everything has a risk but if you are healthy and young then you should really have nothing to worry about. The anaethatist will explain what will happen and they will be there monitoring you and looking after you all through the procedure :)
    piecesofme wrote: »