Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Being hounded by TV licencing people

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I am a student and live in halls. About a month ago, I had a letter telling me that I either have to buy a TV licence (I don't own any equipment to watch TV; nor do I watch any form of TV - so don't have to buy one) or have to inform them on an 0844 number that I don't own a TV.

I got another letter yesterday telling me that the flat I'm living in, is now under investigation because we have not informed them that we don't have a TV licence.

Do I actually have to tell them I don't have a TV? I'm sure I got told I only have to tell them if I do have a TV or other such equipment.

I know it should only take 5 minutes to tell them; but no way am I phoning up a company who uses a premium rate number to tell them. Surely they have to prove that I do have a TV?

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Feel free to ignore them 100%, they spam out these letters to everyone. If they want to come investigate, they're welcome to - although they have no right to enter your home without your permission (I'm pretty sure you trump the landlord / university's wishes too as residents have those rights in law).

The general strategy of the TV licencing people is to hound and harass as many people as they can.
    Thanks shyboy.

What you've said is what I thought about them having no rights to enter.
    Yeah, I get a standard letter from them once a year. When I was new to my house in 2006, I responded to their first letter - called them by phone. I was told that they will need to investigate anyway but they couldn't give me a time or date. They never turned up, neither did I respond to the 2007, 8 or 9 letters. And I have still never seen these guys for real.