Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Am I depressed or am I just a Teenager?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hi I’m only on this site to ask this question I’ve looked around a bit before posting on this site but I’m not sure where else I can ask this question.
I’m female, 17 years old 18 in April, I am in my second year of college, I am studying to become a graphic designer I will be doing a supplement course at another college and going to university after that. I go to life drawing classes and spend Friday nights with my 4 friends watching movies and occasional go out on a Saturday to go to the cinema or shops with my best friend. I have a small 3 hour Saturday job at ASDA where I work alone and don’t talk to many people some people talk to me because my mam works there and they know her.
I would say some time since January of this year I feel my way of thinking has somehow changed, I have always occasionally had that one day that I just feel low for example one day I would just feel ugly when I was out shopping and get pains in my stomach like the feeling you get when your nerves. I have a problem with staying up on a night I seem to go to bed at 9pm or 8pm then when I wake up I feel agitated with pains in my stomach (like nerves) and I feel tired throughout the day. I am passionate about art and reading but I feel like it is a chore now and struggle to motivate myself to do anything. I feel guilty over things and over think everything I do, the movements I make, the way I phrase things, what I think over people think about me. I am not confident and I don’t have many friends, I don’t go out much and like home comforts. I wouldn’t say I think about death a lot but I have thought on occasion that everything would be easier if I died now and wouldn’t have to worry about anything.