Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Self Harming...Should I Stop?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Generally people say you 'should' stop, but it is human nature to not want people to hurt themselves. In an ideal world you could just stop, but I know it's not as easy as that. It sounds liek you need professional help to try to stop. You could also look up on the internet to see if there are any support groups in your area for people of your age. I have no experience of them, but it has been recommended to me only there aren't any in my area.

You need to find out why you feel the need to hurt yourself in one way or another (eating disorder and self harming). Have you tried counselling for your eating disorder in the past? It works for some people anyway. I think if you had help with your eating disorder in the past, you should maybe go back to the service that was helping you for treatment now and talk to them about the self harm too.

Reducing scars... there are things like bio oil and that cocoa butter stuff which is normally used for stretch marks that have both been suggested in the past to me. I don't know if either work, but I have used bio oil to help stop the scars drying out towards the end of the healing process. I don't know what else, other than covering them up with make up that you can do. I don't think there is any definate quick way that will get rid of them completely, because there is damage to the skin there.