Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Christmas cake and puddings!

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hi All,

I proper excited for xmas already - sad I know! and to get in the xmas spirit I want to make my own cake and pudding, I have never done it before and I wondered how far in advance should you make them and do you have any tried and tested recipies that you like to use?

Many Thanks

AFA

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Puddings about now.

Cake about the middle of October.

My top tips for a decent cake.

Get a good, sturdy, loose bottom...........................tin :) None of this 'value' range. You want a good tin because it's going to be in the oven 3 hours(ish) and you don't want it to buckle.

Get good (though not Harraodsesque) ingredients. Unsalted butter, a decent brand of brandy or rum. It's omnly once a year so why not splash out.

Get brown paper. You need it to tie round the tin to help prevent the cake burning. Greaseproof just doesn't do the job.

Mix by hand. There's something really satisfying about making a Christmas cake with bid ol' wooden spoon :)

Plan your icing out before hand. You can make a stencil with greaseproof/tracing paper then prick the pattern through onto the iced cake and pipe it. If you can't pipe make a 'snow scene' cake.

If you like really almondy marzipan make your own. It's really easy.

If you're making marzipan figures (coloured) get white marzipan or modelling icing. The yellow tinge of marzipan makes blue hard to get.

Don't be over ambitious with your icing. Keep it simple and people will still be impressed.

If you dont want to buy a whole tin of black treacle. Put in some extra sugar/golden syrup and a teaspoon or two of gravy browning (what i do).

http://vbulletin.thesite.org/showpost.php?p=2090051&postcount=1