Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

xmas shopping budget

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
* i really do apologise for talking about it this early, i wouldn't but i have to save and my student loan comes next week so i need help*

I am a student and thus skint...but i am also a student that isn't well enough to be doing a part time job (i've been signed off for 6 months), plus i have a rather large overdraft that i need to lower and a credit card bill to pay

i've been really anal and made myself a spreadsheet of who i'm buying presents for, what they might like and how much i going to spend.

there are 15 people on the list, all of whom are either family & inlaws or close friends and most people will be getting handmade pressies or only getting £5 spent on them...but this does still equate to £185...is this excessive or realistic? I'm also going to buy sainsburys basics xmas puds as little jokey presents for uni friends - considering they're only 60p a pop this seems ok...

I am spending £50 on one friend, but this is to make me for me missing her last birthday & xmas & this xmas and her birthday which is in january...i kinda have promised it to her already...

i'm only spending £25 on my boyfriend and my mum (not including postage as she lives in spain and i won't see her till february if not later), everyone else is getting handmade or cheap £5 pressies...

does that seem ok or a cop out?

help! i've never done a proper family xmas before and i'm not sure whats good or not...

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru