Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Holiday whilst actively jobseeking on JSA.

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hey there - I have a question that i'd like answered.

First off, I've only been on JSA for 3 weeks and I am actively looking for a job (for example, applied to work in every Bar/Hotel/Retail shop - twice, or in some cases 3 times).

Local newspapers have no valid jobs (or require some kind of experience), and jobsearch's whilst "signing on" have returned no results in any of the 3 specified areas above. The fact that it took me ages to get an interview locally (the guy on the jsa claim line hinted that it never usually takes as long as it did) points out the lull of employment in my area (FYI - I live in ryde, on the isle of wight).

I'm available to work any hours..and would prefer bar work, so i have some valid experience for when i move away from home to goto university (im 18 and have just finished a 2 year diploma at college) - but anything is better than JSA.

Anyhow, my problem is - when my nan died in august, she left me 500 pound in her will - and I want to use this to go on a short tour (preferably a month, or a little under) of eastern europe. Because I know if i just have it sitting in my bank-account, it'll get eaten away at, until i have nothing significant to show for it.

Knowing that at the moment I have to sign on every 2 weeks, and god-forbid im still looking for a job in Jan/Feb (when I intend to go) - Will i be able to take a break in my payments?

I understand how this is a sticky subject...why should i be holidaying on JSA...but i hope the above points, and the facts that my parents have been paying tax all their life (they are 60-/+ now) validate my claim.

Thanks in advance for any advice :wave:

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru