Home General Chat
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

New 64-bit Windows XP machine running slow

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Today I got a new computer at work. It has a Core 2 Duo 3 GHz processor and 4 GB of RAM, with Windows XP 64-bit.

The problem is anything I do in explorer (browse folders, start menu, desktop, etc) is super slow. There is about a 3/4 second delay after I click on anything, and the mouse takes the same amount of time to appear. It's weird because if I keep a program in the foreground (e.g. Firefox or Excel) the program itself runs perfectly well. But if I try and select a different program from the taskbar or leave the current program, I get this delay again.

I've never used 64-bit Windows before so I don't know if this could be an OS-specific issue. The computers come pre-installed by our IT department. I can ask them about it, but I was wondering if anyone has any idea what might be causing this weird problem? If it was a home machine I'd mess around with drivers etc, but I don't want to change too much on a work machine.

p.s. I also can't connect to the network printers due to some kind of driver problem - will I need 64-bit specific drivers?

Comments

• Options
    Just an update.

I have narrowed the problem down to Winword.exe. It seems when Winword.exe (and other applications, but the main culprit is Word) is running, it runs as a 32-bit process. I don't know if this is a problem with the Office installation or a problem with Windows x64 running 32-bit programs properly.

I previously had 32-bit Firefox installed, which was unaffected by the Winword.exe problem. I now installed Firefox 64-bit, which IS slowed down when Winword.exe *32 is running. It seems that only 64-bit processes are affected.

Any ideas?
  • Options